Pius XI Medal


With the goal of promoting scientific research, the Pius XI Medal is awarded by the Pontifical Academy of Sciences every two years to a young scientist under the age of 45, chosen by the Academic body for his or her exceptional promise. A few of the winners have also become members of the Academy (see active links).

Winners of the Pius XI and Pius XII Prizes 1939-43
1939 Corneille J.F. Heymans (Belgium) Life Sciences
1942 Harlow Shapley (USA) Astronomy (Award info)
1943 Emanuel De Margerie (France) Earth Sciences (Award info)

The Pius XI Medal 1961-2012
1961 B. Woodward (USA) Chemistry (Award info)
1962 Bengt E. Andersson (Sweden) Life Sciences (Award info)
1963 Aage Bohr (Denmark) Physics (Award info)
1964 François Gros (France) Life Sciences (Award info)
1966 Alan R. Sandage (USA) Astronomy (Award info)
1970 Haruo Kanatani (Japan) Life Sciences (Award info)
1972 György Némethy (Hungary) Physics (Award info)
1975 Stephen W. Hawking (UK) Astronomy (Award info)
1976 Lucio Luzzatto (Italy) Life Sciences (Award info)
1979 Antonio Paes de Carvalho (Brazil) Life Sciences (Award info)
1981 Jean-Marie Lehn (France) Chemistry (Award info)
1983 Gerardus t'Hooft (Netherlands) Physics
1986 Elizabeth A. Bernays (Australia) Life Sciences
1988 Luís A. Caffarelli (Argentina) Mathematics (Award info)
1992 Adi Shamir (Israel) Other Disciplines
1996 Mark M. Davis (USA) Chemistry (Award info)
2000 Gillian P. Bates (UK) Life Sciences (Award info)
2000 Stephen W. Davies (UK) Life Sciences (Award info)
2002 Stanislas Dehaene (France) Life Sciences (Award info)
2002 Juan M. Maldacena (USA) Physics (Award info)
2004 Laure Saint-Raymond (France) Mathematics (Award info)
2006 Ashoka Sen (India) Physics (Award info)
2008 Juan A. Larraín (Chile) Life Sciences (Award info)
2010 Patrick Mehlen (France) Biology (Award info)
2012 Trees-Juen Chuang (Taiwan) Genomics (Award info)
2012 Ulrich Pöschl (Austria) Chemistry (Award info)
2014 Cédric Villani (France) Mathematics (Award info)
2016 Mariano Sigman (Argentina) Neurosciences (Award info)
2018 Noble Ephraim Banadda (Uganda), David M. Sabatini (USA), Miriam Serena Vitiello (Italy) (Award info)


John XXIII, Saint

His Holiness John XXIII (28 Oct. 1958-3 June 1963) was the third of thirteen children in a family... Read more
  • Luis Ángel Caffarelli

    Date of Birth 8 December 1948 Place Buenos Aires (Argentina) Nomination 2 August 1994 Field Mathematics Title Professor ... Read more
  • Stanislas Dehaene

    Date of Birth 12 May 1965 Place Roubaix (France) Nomination 9 June 2008 Field Experimental Cognitive Psychology Title Professor ... Read more
  • Juan Maldacena

    Date of Birth 10 September 1968 Place Buenos Aires, Argentina Nomination 9 April 2013 Field Physics Title Professor ... Read more
  • Jean-Marie Lehn

    Date of Birth: 30 September 1939 Place: Rosheim (France) Nomination: 30 May 1996 Field: Chemistry Title: Professor, Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, 1987 ... Read more

  • Stephen Hawking

    Oxford, UK 8 January 1942 - Cambridge, UK 14 March 2018 Nomination: 9 January 1986 Field: Physics Title: Lucasian Professor ... Read more
  • Aage Bohr

    Copenhagen, Denmark, 19 June 1922 - 9 Sept. 2009 Nomination 17 Apr. 1978 Field Physics Title Professor of Physics at the University of Copenhagen ... Read more